Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Storage

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Congratulations to Elland Jhann Ilustre! You are the winner of a brand new Seagate Desktop 1TB SSHD! Please email us using your Facebook email address for confirmation.

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

[section label=”Introduction”]

Seagate has always embraced the idea of marrying SSDs and HDDs into a single form and it was way back a few years ago that they first launched their first SSHD hybrid drive into the market. Fast-forward a few years and now we have the newest generation of SSHDs from Seagate. The company aims to bring faster performance than normal hard drives using what it calls adaptive memory technology wherein the drive adapts to the usage patterns of the user, keeping the most frequently used data in the faster solid-state part of the drive for quick access. Today we take a look at the latest line of these drives in this Seagate Desktop SSHD review.

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Seagate is a familiar name in the storage industry and practically synonymous with HDD storage, and that has been their major business since their inception but with the dramatically changing landscape in storage needs of consumers, the reigning kings of HDD solutions have to play at a whole new level with the increasing demands of gamers and power users. Seagate introduced the SSHD, offering bulk storage with significant performance and responsiveness advantages in one single product. Let’s check out the Seagate Desktop SSHD in this review.

drive_on_dock

[section label=”Features”]

Features

Performance – Capacity. Affordable Price.

  • The first solid state hybrid drive (SSHD) in a 3.5-inch form factor
  • Boots up and performs like an SSD1
  • SATA 6Gb/s with NCQ for interface speed
  • Faster than a traditional HDD
  • All-in-one design for simplicity and ease of installation
  • Installs and operates like a standard hard drive: cross-platform, no drivers or additional software required
  • Massive 1TB, 2TB and 4TB capacities combined with SSD-like performance1
  • Backed by a 3-year limited warranty

Best-fit Applications

  • Desktop PCs
  • Workstations
  • High-performance direct-attached storage (DAS) devices

[section label=”Specifications”]

Specifications

[table style=”table-striped”]
Specifications 4TB 2TB 1TB
Model Number ST4000DX001 ST2000DX001 ST1000DX001
Interface SATA 6Gb/s NCQ SATA 6Gb/s NCQ SATA 6Gb/s NCQ
Performance
NAND Type/Size MLC/8GB MLC/8GB MLC/8GB
DRAM Cache (MB) 64 64 64
SATA Transfer Rates Supported (Gb/s) 6.0/3.0/1.5 6.0/3.0/1.5 6.0/3.0/1.5
Seek Average, Read (ms) <12 <9.5 <8.5
Seek Average, Write (ms) <12 <9.5 <8.5
Average Data Rate, Read, Avg All Zones (MB/s) 146 156 156
Average Data Rate From NAND Media (MB/s) 190 190 190
Max Sustained Data Rate, OD Read (MB/s) 180 210 210
Configuration/Organisation
Heads/Discs 8/4 4/2 2/1
Bytes per Sector 4,096 4,096 4,096
Reliability/Data Integrity
Load/Unload Cycles 300,000 300,000 300,000
Non-recoverable Read Errors per Bits Read, Max 1 per 1014 1 per 1014 1 per 1014
Annualised Failure Rate (AFR) <1% <1% <1%
Power Management
Power (W)
Operating, Typical 7.5 6.7 5.9
Idle2, Typical 4.5 3.36
Idling, Typical 6.2
Standby Mode 0.75 0.75 0.63
Sleep Mode 0.75 0.75 0.63
Environmental
Temperature (°C)
Operating 0 to 60 0 to 60 0 to 60
Non-operating −40 to 70 −40 to 70 −40 to 70
Physical
Height (in/mm) 1.028/26.11 1.028/26.11 0.782/19.87
Width (in/mm) 4.0/101.6 4.0/101.6 4.0/101.6
Depth (in/mm) 5.787/146.99 5.787/146.99 5.787/146.99
Weight (lb/g) 1.345/610 1.18/535 0.88/400
Carton Unit Quantity 20 20 25
Cartons per Pallet 40 40 40
Cartons per Layer 8 8 8
[/table] [section label=”Closer Look”]
Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Seagate Desktop SSHD

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Seagate Desktop SSHD

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Seagate Desktop SSHD

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Seagate Desktop SSHD

[section label=”Performance Testing”]

PERFORMANCE TESTING

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard: MSI Z77 Mpower
Memory: Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-2400 16GB
Storage: SEAGATE DESKTOP SSHD 1TB (ST1000DX001)
PSU: Seasonic Platinum P1000

drive_on_tray

Potential Performance

ATTO Disk Benchmark benchmarks a drive’s read and write speeds with increasing file sizes and graphs them.

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

Potential Write Performance

For potential write testing, HD Tune was used to measure the drive’s write performance. Again, we focus on the average results for real-world relevance.

hdtune_write

Crystal DiskMark

Crystal Disk Mark is storage benchmarking software was developed by “hiyohiyo” of Japan, and is available for free. Crystal Disk Mark measures sequential, and random read/write speeds of storage devices.

crystal_diskmark

Real-world Test: File Transfer

We’ve taken our compression test files, a collection of images, documents and other files ranging from 1KB to 50MB amounting to 3,343 files for 3GB and a single, large 12GB file. We’re posting the raw transfer results for your reference. Test data is copied off a PCI-express SSD.

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

File Transfer: Large File

Seagate Desktop SSHD Review

File Transfer: Miscellaneous Files

Filled-Space Performance

Now we check out performance when we fill the drive with random files amounting to more than 50% capacity and running our benchmarks a few times then letting the drive rest then finally running to get a picture of how the drive performs during such use.

atto_used

We can see the drive reverts to its rated drive speed meaning the SSHD hasn’t applied adaptive technology to our benchmark given that it deletes its files after running. In a real world sense, the adaptive technology would benefit OS or application files and of course, game files. Say for example you play a lot of Diablo 3 which is a 13GB installation, the most common files are cached in the SSD portion of the Seagate SSHD and quickly gets loaded so you get into the game quickly. This applies best to FPS games and to some extent MOBAs where level textures are loaded when you cross certain areas of the map, sometimes causing framedrops and slowdowns which could easily be a life or death situation once you get into a clash or firefight.

[section label=”Conclusion”]

Conclusion

Seagate Desktop SSHD

Cue the #Back2Wealthy memes.

The Seagate SSHD presents a more competitive solution of achieving higher performance for read access together large capacities for bulk storage without the need of buying separate products and certainly a more affordable option than a multiple disk setup. Seagate addresses two issues that most gamers and power users encounter when choosing a storage solution but are faced with budget or space constraints:

  1. The Seagate SSHD provides high speed storage performance for regularly accessed files using Adaptive Memory Technology where it efficiently uses it’s NAND memory to serve update quickly, which is enough for gaming.
  2. The Seagate SSHD is a single-drive solution removing the need for an SSD + HDD setup for an OS drive and bulk storage drive saving space and power at the same time.

There are plenty of other scenarios where the Seagate SSHD would triumph but as most folks are comfortable with buying an SSD for their usage, it’s the consumers that want to save money for an upgrade like a faster GPU or CPU than their storage.

Overall, the Seagate Desktop SSHD is an effective solution that a certain portion of the market, namely budget gamers, can appreciate. They get the benefit of read speeds from an SSD and the large storage capacity of an HDD. While it doesn’t break any performance records, the Seagate SSHD is still an impressive product due to its versatility.

The Seagate Desktop SSHD comes in 1TB, 2TB and 4TB capacities and is backed by a 3-year warranty. We give it our B2G Silver Award.

B2G_Silver


CONGRATULATIONS!

winnar

Congratulations to Elland Jhann Ilustre! You are the winner of a brand new Seagate Desktop 1TB SSHD! Please email us using your Facebook email address for confirmation.

THIS GIVEAWAY HAS CONCLUDED.

We’re giving one of you lucky readers the chance to win your own, brand new Seagate Desktop SSHD 1TB drive. All you have to do is simply answer the questions in our giveaway app below. It’s that easy. Optional questions grant you bonus entries for more chances! All the answers are in this review, feel free to be creative with your answers.
Seagate SSHD Giveaway

Important stuff:

  • Contest runs from date of posting until 11:59PM, July 21, 2015.
  • One (1) winner of one (1) Seagate Desktop SSHD 1TB.
  • No purchase necessary to join.
  • Winner will be announced within 48 hours after draw.
  • Winner has 24 hours to respond after announcement otherwise we will deem it forfeited and another winner shall be selected.
  • Open to permanent residents of the Philippines only.

Written By

My favorite animal is the scapegoat.

72 Comments

72 Comments

  1. Roboy

    July 18, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    Performance,Capacity and Affordable Price a really Bang for the buck…I really need this one for my computer shop server pc.It would help me a lot on saving Online Games and for faster performance..

  2. Michael Pabia

    July 18, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    Love the idea of a single-drive solution! Ideal for mini-ITX builds.

  3. ryan

    July 18, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    A definite upgrade from a hard drive and for those on a tight budget will like this.

  4. Albert Ragasa

    July 18, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    Performance and Capacity!
    I need it to store videos, music and documents!

  5. Allyson Lucindo

    July 18, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    I like how it’s a single-drive solution. You have the performance and size both in one piece and the price is lovely for someone who’s having a hard time picking between an SSD and an HDD whether to choose speed first than size. And I must say that I’m THAT someone. :))

  6. Rom Divina

    July 19, 2015 at 3:33 am

    This single-drive solution removing the need for an SSD + HDD setup for an OS drive and bulk storage drive saving space and power at the same time is all i need. Right now im using 120gb SSD for OS + 1TB HDD black for my personal files including games. I read somewhere that using ssd as a back up for your personal files not running it for over a week is not safe so definitely this SSHD is the solution and i deserve to win this one.

    Thanks Back2Gaming for some fun!

  7. Richard Arao (@chadogg)

    July 19, 2015 at 5:12 am

    No need to buy a separate SSD since the Seagate Desktop SSHD combines the extreme read/write speeds of an SSD with the capacity of a standard disk drive. 😀

  8. Gad Aryeh Medina

    July 19, 2015 at 5:30 am

    Good alternative for budget PC users who aren’t ready to jump over on SSDs entirely and still opt for traditional HDDs. This product should probably convince them to make a gamble with new technology and make them realize what they’re missing.

  9. Justin Ayson

    July 19, 2015 at 7:52 am

    Nice! 😀

  10. Mark Gericc Dol (@gericcdol)

    July 19, 2015 at 11:37 am

    An SSHD would be a great thing to buy for some mid-level gamers out there. The people who want an SSD but can’t afford one can get an SSHD. I myself would want one because lately, I have been saving up for an SSD but the problem is I can’t afford a large one and it would really help me with all of the games I have yet to play on my library 🙂 #gameon

  11. Jet Gabriel Acebron

    July 19, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    This storage is awesome!

  12. Jasper John S. Cecilio

    July 19, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    SSD–like performance and hard drive capacity! I need more space for my F100 (PC) <3

  13. Jonathan Movillon

    July 19, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    finally, a seagate sshd. I’ve look at WD BLACK SSHD version and would want to know how this one compares

    I deserve to win this one because the random number generator has finally chosen me at random!

  14. James Bayating

    July 19, 2015 at 11:38 pm

    Woohoo!!!! Seagate, good warranty good coverage.

  15. Timothy John D. Tiongko

    July 20, 2015 at 9:04 am

    SSHDs are the beasts when it comes to high-speed transfer rates and they’re more durable!

  16. Dale

    July 20, 2015 at 1:47 pm

    I hope I will win this giveaway. This will definitely improve my computer’s boot time and overall performance for my gaming and general computing needs, I’d certainly pick this Seagate SSHD rather than an OP, small capacity SSDs nowadays.

  17. Ken Clemer Baltar

    July 20, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    a great alternative for those on a budget and want SSD like performance + large storage amount

  18. Arthur James Malgapo

    July 20, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    Having a lot of storage and faster than HDD speeds are the best features for SSHDs. I need one for my video editing and gaming. I do a lot of competitive gaming event coverage, the speed and huge space is perfect for this kind of thing.

  19. Jordan Generoso

    July 20, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    Great review. Recommended for low budget-good performance build

  20. Jayvee Abellon

    July 20, 2015 at 2:49 pm

    +1 for gundam 00 movie kekek

  21. Con

    July 20, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    Good job seagate.. A new product to look forward to specially for pc enthusiast.

  22. RhoK

    July 20, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    Perfect for budget people like me.

  23. Annalyn C. Bernardo

    July 20, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    SSHD FTW! I definitely need this! Super fast and very reliable!

  24. Noel A. Punu Jr.

    July 20, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    1TB for $120.00, 2TB for $170, and 4TB for $240. Prices are from Amazon.

    It’s pretty good, though, you can get some performance from SSDs while getting the capacities of HDDs. A little too expensive for me but I think it’s worth it in the long run. It’s easy to set up too!

  25. Michael Corbin Magbanua

    July 20, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    The feature I like the most came from the name itself, “SSHD”. A hybrid between HDD and SSD. SSD performance with an HDD capacity in an affordable price. YAY!

    And I deserve to win this BAE :3 because I’m planning for an upgrade in months but because I’m really on a tight budget, I couldn’t push through with it. So winning this SSHD will definitely save me a chunk of money.

  26. Troya

    July 20, 2015 at 11:15 pm

    The adaptive memory technology enhances its resourcefulness through separating the files used the most as well as saving space in a case. This would be great in modded cases or in my modded table case lol.

  27. F (@persistingdream)

    July 21, 2015 at 2:29 am

    Great performance and affordable.

  28. Laurence Divina

    July 21, 2015 at 11:04 am

    I really like the idea of Adaptive memory technology where it can speed up accessing my files that I regularly use like having an SSD. I need this to level up my gaming PC and everyday usage and i really think i deserve to win this ^_^

  29. Cyrus Simbulan

    July 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    With all the fad going on about cutting carbon footprints and going green, I think it’s about time I tried a hybrid. It has great economy, instant torque and has a capacity that fits light users and heavy users.

  30. Leo Bien Durana

    July 21, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    Capacity

  31. Marvin Lorenzo F. Datara

    July 21, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Capacity, performance and because I don’t have one yet! ^_^

  32. Marc M

    July 21, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    The feature that I like the most is its massive capacity with SSD-like performance. I deserve to win because I’m awesome and there’s nothing you can do about it. 😛

  33. james braga

    July 24, 2015 at 9:56 pm

    way cool

  34. Christian

    July 24, 2015 at 10:00 pm

    Speed + Big Capacity (Y)

  35. Jp Cabral

    July 24, 2015 at 10:10 pm

    Speed and capacity all-in-one.

  36. Castronuevo Angelson

    July 24, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    Capacity + Speed + Reliability + Great Technology.. This seagate sshd is perfect.. i’ve been using seagate hdd since my 1st computer and i can say that their products are awesome and have long lifespan..

  37. Michael

    July 24, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    seagate FTW, built my 1st computer with a seagate. same as my 2nd.. planning on building my 3rd rig but still not have enough money so this will be a great help and its hybrid wooooo..

  38. Elvin Abquina

    July 24, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    It’s a freakin hybrid!:D

    I’d like to see more of what Adaptive Memory Technology technology can do. Let me have it!XD

  39. Lloyd Partoza

    July 24, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    Being a Hybrid Drive.. allows you to use only this drive than using multiple storage devices :3

    I deserve to win one because I’m running out of space and I’m planning to shift from mATX to ITX 😀

  40. Stephen Fernandez

    July 24, 2015 at 11:40 pm

    capacity for tons of …. :3

  41. Aurlan Castillo Ostrea

    July 24, 2015 at 11:54 pm

    would love to have this as a game drive solution as a 128gb is barely sufficient these days.

  42. vincent

    July 25, 2015 at 12:21 am

    The balance between speed, capacity, and cost
    I need this to replace my laptop’s HDD

  43. Elland Jhann Ilustre

    July 25, 2015 at 2:38 am

    Nice performance. Really good for everyday use.

  44. Elland Jhann Ilustre

    July 25, 2015 at 2:51 am

    What i like on this SSHD is that it performs like an SSD with a big capacity and an affordable price with a 3-year limited warranty. I am deserving to win a Seagate Desktop 1TB SSHD because I believe that this would improve my work and output as an online freelancer. This would improve the read and write of data in the programs and applications I’m using in my work.

  45. Mark

    July 25, 2015 at 3:44 am

    PERFORMANCE, CAPACITY and AFFORDABLE PRICE!!!

    I deserve to win this because i really want to try this SSHD and i don’t have the money to buy it… 😀

  46. jason pinzon

    July 25, 2015 at 6:35 am

    the capacity and performance,because sshd is like ssd+hdd = sshd 😀 hybrid Boot Faster. Load Faster. Shoot Faster.

  47. Josep Angelo Buenafe

    July 25, 2015 at 9:23 am

    Speed of a SSD + storage size of a hard disk. A deal for the performance of 2

  48. John Carlo

    July 25, 2015 at 9:28 am

    Capacity of a HDD and the speed of a SSD makes me wanna cry because i dont have the money to buy this XD

  49. lolokoa

    July 25, 2015 at 10:11 am

    Booting up like a SSD with the storage capacity of a HDD is pretty cool

  50. Aries Aguilar

    July 25, 2015 at 10:19 am

    your AIO need for your OS and Files. 😀
    No more SSD and HDD installed separately! ^_^

  51. Rephael Catap

    July 25, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Would like to have this drive for my audio library samples, as my Spinpoint F3 1TB is 5 years old already and giving up! This would definitely be a worthy replacement for it and would drastically speed up my loading times! 🙂

  52. Ryan

    July 25, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Better upgrade! And i want one 😀

  53. cris

    July 25, 2015 at 11:49 am

    I like the fact that B2G has reviewed this hard drive and that’s also one reason why I’d like to win this contest. Another thing is that I need a bigger storage for my files as my current Seagate 500GB is no longer enough.

    The good thing about this SSHD is that it’s fast and affordable, an All in One solution for your storage needs, another thing to note is that it comes with 3 years of warranty for peace of mind!

  54. Gino Paolo Cruz

    July 25, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    It being hybrid is so much awesome. All the other Added tech is a bonus for me.

  55. kpdaliposa

    July 25, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Seagate’s Adaptive Memory Technology amazes me most because it is self-learning which means it learns overtime where to store the elements depending on their priority.

    I need this to upgrade my current station because its storage capacity is behind most PCs today.

  56. Emmanuel Llorin

    July 25, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    I have to win this cause, My Hard Disk drive just died 2 days ago, and I don’t have money to buy a new HDD, and winning this would make my life productive.

  57. Michael Alejandro

    July 25, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    I need this for fast boot and loading for games

  58. Dante Cambare

    July 26, 2015 at 1:14 am

    Very innovative, reasonable price for both the speed of an ssd and the capacity of the hdd in a piece of hardware instead of having two which also saves space

  59. Emilie Canapi Prades Udasco

    July 26, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    What I like most about this Seagate Desktop SSHD 1TB is the “All-in-one design for simplicity and ease of installation”. Because for me who doesn’t have enough knowledge in fixing computers, I think I won’t have a hard time in fixing, placing, installing and restoring all my files!

    I deserve to win this because my hard disk/computer is not working since last week. The technician told me that I need to buy a new hard disk and replace it asap and (my fear) all files will be lost. This giveaway is just perfect since I can’t afford to buy a new one. Thanks for the chance to have it for free! Good luck to all! 🙂

  60. Limbert Sanoy

    July 26, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    Hybrid. Period.

  61. Elvin Abquina

    August 3, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    ggwp T_T

  62. Elland Jhann Ilustre

    August 4, 2015 at 12:04 am

    Thank you po!

  63. Winston Ivan Ong

    August 4, 2015 at 12:12 am

    grats

  64. Jason Pinzon

    August 4, 2015 at 6:41 am

    swerte <3 congrats :))

  65. Laurence Divina

    August 4, 2015 at 6:49 am

    congrats

  66. Ariel Jersey

    August 4, 2015 at 7:20 am

    Hindi ko alam na may contest.

  67. Michael Corbin Magbanua

    August 4, 2015 at 10:01 am

    congrats!

  68. Juan Squared Corbal

    August 4, 2015 at 10:15 am

    Second win mo na land ah. Grats

  69. Raphael Acilo

    August 4, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    wow O_0

  70. Noel A. Punu Jr.

    August 4, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    kantai collection? congrats!

  71. Eric Fermil

    August 4, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    does it come with free Kongou ‘materials?’

  72. Jerome Divina

    August 5, 2015 at 12:15 am

    congrats to elland and thanks to back2gaming for some fun!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

You May Also Like

Press Release

TEAMGROUP is joining the 7000MB/s Gen4 club with their latest T-Force SSD: the CARDEA A440

Storage

Synology currently has two 4-bay options as part of the x20 Plus class of NAS. Today we have the Synology DiskStation DS920+ for review....

Press Release

We have our eyes on you, ADATA XPG. ಠ_ಠ No more bait and switch.

Storage

GIGABYTE's expands its VISION content creator lineup with the VISION DRIVE 1TB External SSD. Supporting USB3.2 Gen2x2, it can do around 2000MB/s sequential. For...

Advertisement